Sunday School Surprise!!

Tomorrow my kids should be getting a small surprise to find I have some fun activities planned for Sunday School!!! I have been working with the preschool Sunday School class since February and I enjoy it, not only is it good training for what I want to do, but I get to hang out with adorable kids while they learn about the bible. The lady in charge of the group was messaging me on Facebook yesterday asking if I could come up with some crafts for the kids to do and I said yes right away!!! So I came up with some clever ideas through pictures I found on Google. Here are those pictures…

A craft for when we learn about Baby Moses during Children's Church

A craft for when we learn about Baby Moses during Children’s Church

A idea for what I can do for the craft dealing with Jesus healing the blind man

A idea for what I can do for the craft dealing with Jesus healing the blind man

So there are 2 portions to helping out with Sunday School. There is the actual Sunday School between the 8:00 service and the 10:30 service where we will be learning about Jesus healing the Blind man…..the bottom picture has me thinking I can bring these sashes I have and we can tie them over the kids eyes and have them draw on one side of the paper while blindfolded and the other side while they can see.

Children’s Church is the second portion of Sunday School. It is where the kids are dismissed during the second service, right before the sermon begins and they stay there until after church, to go to their Sunday School rooms and have a sermon of their own more centered around a child’s understanding of the bible then what they’d get during a church service. This is where we will be learning about Baby Moses being placed in the Nile. I found this project (top photo) to be incredibly interesting and it spurred me to spend an hour making six baby baskets that we can glue to a piece of paper. I still have to make cut outs of either the kids or my own hands tomorrow though. Here are the pictures of me at work on those babies in their baskets…..

130713_0000

One down, five to go

130713_0003

All six ready and done

 

Closeup of basket #1

Closeup of basket #1

Suffice it to say I am not the best artist, but when I want to I can make it look like what I am trying to draw. Maybe I should make a page with all the drawings I have done over the years along with ones I have commissioned to be done by friends of mine. Food for thought I guess………

HAPPY SUNDAY!!!!!

One thought on “Sunday School Surprise!!

  1. Great activities. I know the kids had a wonderful time! šŸ™‚

    Congratulations, Rory… You have been nominated for the Epically Awesome Award of Epic Awesomeness! I hope you will accept your award. You can check it out here… http://lifewithlorelai.wordpress.com/2013/07/17/its-an-epically-awesome-day/

    Hope you have a great day!
    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

Leave a Reply

